5 mins read

How to plan your long weekends in 2024

How to plan your long weekends in 2024
ADVENTURE
TRAVEL TIPS
SOLO TRAVEL

By Riddhi Chaudhari

31 Dec, 2023

Ohai Travellers,

Ready to dive into the long weekends of 2024 with a spirit of adventure? This year promises an exciting array of holidays in 2024, offering perfect opportunities for those much-needed getaways.

It feels like we jumped straight from 2019 to 2024. Time seems to be flying right before our eyes, emphasizing the importance of seizing those pristine opportunities (or creating them) to travel more this year. With the long weekends 2024 has gifted us, it's time to map out your journeys and embrace the holidays in 2024 with open arms.

Hikers in adventure trip

Group of friends on an adventure trip

Planning a trip can be hard work. You need to set the dates, convince your friends or family, apply for leave, save up, and so on. While you hustle for the rest, planning the right dates is something we can definitely assist with. There are about 10 long weekends in 2024 that have come as a blessing, straight from the travel heavens. Below, you'll find the full list, sprinkled with some great travel recommendations and hacks for the holidays in 2024.

So what are you waiting for? Make 2024 your TRAVEL YEAR and let's #getupgo.

Holidays in December / January 2024

Woman skis steep Narkanda slope with agile short turns

Woman skis steep Narkanda slope with agile short turns

30 Dec - Saturday

31 Dec - Sunday

1 Jan - Monday (New Year)

13 Jan - Saturday (Lohri)

14 Jan - Sunday

15 Jan - Monday (Pongal & Makar Sankranti)

26 Jan - Friday (Republic Day)

27 Jan - Saturday (Take a leave)

28 Jan - Sunday

Recommendations:

1. Skiing in snow-filled Narkanda

2. Early morning tea plantation hike in Munnar

3. Foggy cycling tour at Nahargarh Fort, Jaipur

Holidays in March 2024

Morning light bathes Coorg's misty hills in a peaceful glow

Morning light bathes Coorg's misty hills in a peaceful glow

7 March - Thursday (Take a leave)

8 March - Friday (Mahashivratri)

9 March - Saturday

10 March - Sunday

23 March - Saturday

24 March - Sunday

25 March - Monday (Holi)

29 March - Friday (Good Friday)

30 March - Saturday

31 March - Sunday

Recommendations:

1. Getaway with your partner to Coorg

2. Join the celebration at the Goa Carnival

3. Explore the Sand Dunes in Jaisalmer

Holidays in April 2024

Beautiful sunset over the rocky Om beach of Gokarna

Beautiful sunset over the rocky Om beach of Gokarna

6 April - Saturday

7 April - Sunday

8 April - Monday (Take a leave)

9 April - Tuesday (Gudhi Padwa)

10 April - Wednesday (Take a leave)

11 April - Thursday [Ramzan-Id (Id-UL-Fitr)]

Recommendations:

1. Explore Tibetan culture and beautiful monasteries in McLeodGanj

2. Celebrate Baisakhi in Amritsar

3. Explore the beaches of Gokarna for a more laid-back and less commercialized beach experience

Holidays in May 2024

Camping at Bhandardara

Landscape of camp and tents with hills at Arthur Lake in Bhandardara

23 May - Thursday (Buddha Purnima)

24 May - Friday (Take a leave)

25 May - Saturday

26 May - Sunday

Recommendations:

1. Camping experience at Arthur Lake, Bhandardara

2. Learn apple picking in Kufri

3. Cafe hop in magical Manali

Holidays in June 2024

Mehrangharh Fort and Jaswant Thada mausoleum in Jodhpur

Mehrangharh Fort and Jaswant Thada mausoleum in Jodhpur

15 June - Saturday

16 June - Sunday

17 June - Monday (Bakri Eid)

Recommendations:

1. Enjoy Lonavala’s rainy ambience

2. Celebrate Yoga Day in Rishikesh

3. Soak in the heritage in Jodhpur

Holidays in August 2024

Views of the village of Nakthan, Kasol

Views of the village of Nakthan in the Parvati Valley, Kasol

15 August - Thursday (Independence Day)

16 August - Friday (Parsi New Year)

17 August - Saturday

18 August - Sunday

19 August - Monday (Raksha Bandhan)

24 August - Saturday

25 August - Sunday

26 August - Monday (Janmashthami)

Recommendations:

1. Discover the villages near Kasol

2. Chill near the lake in Udaipur

3. Find hidden trails in Ramgarh.

Holidays in September 2024

Paragliding in Bir

Paraglide amidst the hills at Bir Billing

6 September - Friday (Take a leave)

7 September - Saturday (Ganesh Chaturthi)

8 September - Sunday

14 September - Saturday

15 September - Sunday

16 September - Monday (Eid Milad Un Nabi)

Recommendations:

1. Enjoy the season of paragliding in Bir

2. Meditate on the ridge in Kasar Devi

3. Trek up to the Kareri Lake

Holidays in October and November 2024

View Taj Mahal on the banks of the Yamuna river

View the Taj Mahal on the banks of the Yamuna river

29 October - Tuesday (Dhanteras)

30 October - Wednesday (Take a leave)

31 October - Thursday (Naraka Chaturdasi)

1 November - Friday (Lakshmi Puja)

2 November - Saturday (Govardhan Puja)

3 November - Sunday (Bhai Dooj)

15 November - Friday (Guru Nanak Jayanti)

16 November - Saturday

17 November - Sunday

Recommendations:

1. Take a quick trip to Agra

2. Run in Ooty’s tea estates

3. Staycation in the offbeat Bandal, Tirthan Valley

4. Go peak-watching in Mukhteshwar

Holidays in December 2024

View of the serpentine ghat road from Lakkidi view point

View of the serpentine ghat road from Lakkidi viewpoint, Wayanad

21 December - Saturday

22 December - Sunday

23 December - Monday (Take a leave)

24 December - Tuesday (Take a leave)

25 December - Wednesday (Christmas)

Recommendations:

1. Have a snowball fight in Shimla

2. Drive amidst the lush forests in Wayanad 

3. Party all night in Delhi

Long weekends in 2024 are an excellent chance to unwind, enjoy yourself, and discover new horizons. They offer a much-needed escape from the daily grind, presenting an ideal time to engage in pleasurable activities. As the holidays in 2024 approach, seize the opportunity to meticulously plan thrilling escapades and create unforgettable experiences. Whether you're keen on embarking on a hiking adventure, exploring a novel city, or trying out a new hobby, the holidays in 2024 offer a myriad of opportunities for excitement and discovery. Embrace the long weekends in 2024 to their fullest extent – you've earned it!

Take advantage of the holidays in 2024 to explore your favorite destinations. Rest assured, and plan your long weekends in 2024 with your friendly neighborhood backpacker hostel, ready to welcome you in over 40+ locations – with even more coming this year!
 

What to do now?

The Hosteller Blog
The Hosteller Blog

Check out 40+ locations here.

Join our community of 500K+ travel lovers here.